Prof. Mahesh S. Tirumkudulu appointed the Larsen and Toubro Chair Professor

About the Donor:

Larsen and Toubro was one of the first few organisations to institute a Chair Professorship at IIT Bombay in 1983. The Larsen and Toubro Chair Professorship was established to promote academic and research pursuits in engineering, including niche areas like nuclear engineering, and more.

About the Appointee:

Prof. Mahesh S. Tirumkudulu, Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering.

Professor Mahesh S. Tirumkudulu is currently the Larsen and Toubro Chair Professor at IIT Bombay.

Prof. Tirumkudulu’s stellar academic background includes receiving his B. Tech from IIT Madras (1995), followed by his Ph.D. from the City University of New York, NY (2001).

Prof. Tirumkudulu’s research interests include Fluid Mechanics, Colloids, Interface Science, and Biophysics.

Over the years, Prof. Tirumkudulu has received multiple awards and accolades. He was elected as a Visiting Fellow of the School of Engineering, the University of Melbourne, in 2016, and as a Visiting Fellow Commoner of Trinity College, 

Cambridge University, in 2015. He won the prestigious Research Publication Award of IIT Bombay in 2015. He was the key speaker at the Professor C. V. Seshadri Memorial Distinguished Lecture Series held at IIT Kanpur in 2013. In 2012, he received the Swaranajayanti Fellowship from the Department of Science & Technology, India. He was the University Grants Commission Visiting Fellow in 2011 and a member of the National Academy of Sciences of India in 2010. In 2008, he won the NASI-Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Awards and received the Indira Manudhane Applied Research Project (Consultancy) Awards, IIT Bombay, in 2007. He was the recipient of the IRCC Young Investigator award at IIT Bombay in 2007 and became an Associate of the Indian Academy of Sciences in 2005.